What are the different parts of a diamond?

What are the three main parts of a diamond?

The graphic below explains the major parts of a diamond. When considering diamond anatomy, the three most important components are diameter, table, and depth. This is because the ratio of the table to the diameter, and the depth to diameter, figure prominently into determining a diamond’s cut grade.

What are the faces of a diamond called?

Facet – The name given to the plane faces of a polished diamond. The brilliant cut has 58 facets, with 32 on the crown and 24 on the pavilion. The table counts as one facet and the culet as another.

What is the Centre of a diamond called?

Culet - The culet (pronounced cue-let) is the very bottom of a diamond’s pavilion. It is either a point or a tiny facet that lies parallel with the table (i.e. the top of the diamond).

What is the flat part of a diamond called?

A cut diamond has a flat upper surface called the table. It has a wide part called the girdle. The depth of a diamond is the distance from the table, from where the diamond angles out, down to the tip called the culet. The area between the table and the girdle is called the crown.

What is a ring shank?

The ring shank, or what is commonly referred to as the band, is the portion of the ring that encircles the finger. The shank is an important design element affecting both the appearance of the ring and how it feels to the wearer.

IT IS AMAZING:  Will Tiffany set a loose diamond?